Archive | 11:40 am

My Identity…My Ink

13 Apr

Alright, now I spoke to a very wise person (Or so he thinks!!) about my blog and he mentioned that it was not so personal and very generic.So today, Friday the 13th, I am going to share something that is very personal with you, that I would not normally do, so please understand that now you are going to know a very private part of me and that is: My Ink.

Why do people get tattoos??The reasons are as varied as they are individuals.In the early ages people would get tattoos to symbolize their tribe and set them apart from other tribes.Some people get tattoos to represent their religion or the people they love, people who are in the military service to symbolize their patriotism, some people get tattoos for the fun of it and others get it as a mistake.

I personally believe you should have a  really strong and substantial reason for getting a tattoo because it will remain and even become a part of you for the rest of your life.Ya I know there are various tattoo removal processes, but those are far too painful.

And also, I don’t believe that tattoos are only for rocks fans, punks and metal heads… that’s just rubbish!!!!Anyone and everyone who wants to get a tattoo should be able to.Though still in many parts of the world people judge you when you have a tattoo or multiple tattoos.

I have two tattoos.the first is a tetragrammaton star and the second one is the wordings “Ever Thine, Ever Mine, Ever Ours”.

Now I have different reasons for getting each of these tattoos.

For the first one, the tetragrammaton star represents the ancient Hebrew language that the Hebrew Scriptures were written in did not have vowels. In the original Hebrew, God’s name is given as “YHWH.” This is known as the tetragrammaton. Because of the lack of vowels, Bible scholars debate how the tetragrammaton “YHWH” was pronounced.Now I got the Star which is one of the portions of this symbol and it is the Pentagram that expresses the dominion of spirit over the elements of nature. This magical sign can dominate the elemental creatures that inhabit the regions of fire, air, water, earth and ether. Before this demons tremble and flee in terror.

Now the reason I got this was because ever since a kid my mum always believed that I was not the “Holy Holy kinds” and maybe I wasn’t.Ya I believed in God, but there were times I questioned a lot of things and tried to find the logic and science in it.As  I finished college and moved away from home and far away from family,I found myself alone and times were tough and sad at times.There would be these specific things that would happen to me, things that I now have termed as God’s little miracles just for me that have made me grow strong in faith and understand God’s power and presence more and more.And for me the Pentagram symbolizes just that.

For the second one, that’s the lines “Ever Thine, Ever Mine, Ever Ours”. I loved the Immortal Beloved Letters by Ludwig van Beethoven. I must admit the first time I heard these lines were in the movie Sex and the City and it really caught my attention. So then I actually got a hold of the love letters of Beethoven. The reason I found these letters beautiful and intriguing was because the recipient’s name was never written nor known.And then later on, after a movement by people close to him they concluded that she was Antoine Brentano. Beethoven fell in love with her after meeting her for the first time in Vienna and she was married at the time.This is what kept them from being together.While she was in Vienna he wrote letters to her.

I fell in love with these words ever since!!So I have inked myself with these beautiful words to remind me of the kind of love that is Immortal and that we rarely find today.I know my love story is more of a friendship-love-fight-love relationship and sometimes it just drives me crazy.But I guess that’s love(atleast for me, coz I’m not the overly mushy,lovey dovey kinda person) and in the end of it all I feel that this is a bond that will be forged in time and will be always Immortal.

And now after getting these two tattoos over a year ago, I’m thinking of getting another tattoo, maybe that will make for another post at another time.But for now I’m happy with these two.

Cheerio!!